Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)

Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)

In the spring of 2015, all students in grades 3-8 & 11 will be given the SBAC summative assessment.  SBAC is aligned with Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and is a grade-level, summative assessment (SBAC assessments).  The tests will be administered during the final 12 weeks of school year 2014/15.  For Maine, the scheduled window is 9 March - 29 May 2015 (MeCAS testing dates).

From SBAC:
Smarter Balanced Assessment Design
The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium has developed a system of valid, reliable, and fair next-generation assessments aligned to the CS in English language arts (ELA)/literacy and mathematics for grades 3-8 and 11. The system includes summative assessments for accountability purposes, optional interim assessments for local use, and formative tools and processes for instructional use. Computer adaptive testing technologies are used for the summative and interim assessments to provide meaningful feedback and actionable data that teachers and other stakeholders can use to help students succeed. For more information, visit

SBAC uses a computer adaptive test (CAT) protocol.  CAT is designed to more precisely measure student content achievement and mastery.  CAT uses algorithms to adjust questions presented to a student.  For example, if a student answers a question correctly, the next question is a bit harder.  If the students answers the question incorrectly, the next question is a bit easier.  SBAC has more information about CAT:  What is CAT? (PDF doc) and SBAC CAT webinar

IT is prepared to assist you as you prepare for SBAC.  We have created an SBAC clearinghouse website to assist you.  Point your browser to sbac.rsu20.org.  We don't have all of the answers, but we are working to get those.  Contact your building tech integrator for assistance.